Comfort Zone

But sometimes stepping out of your comfort zone feels like stepping off a cliff.

So my goals for this year have been all about stepping out of my comfort zone. Because frankly I am awkward, shy, and a bit rude until you know me better. Thus the process of social interaction isn’t always easy for me. So I made sure some of my bucket list items for the year were all about stepping out of that zone. Like cosplaying at a con. Going on a solo vacation. Do more solo activities. Embracing my singleness and not letting that stop me.

The first step in that was going to TATINOF. I reached out and made “friends” with people that were also going and that like Dan and Phil as much as I do. It was new, it was different, and I was way out of my comfort zone. It was my first solo show of any kind. And I’ll admit it now, but I was worried. I was nervous and so close to chicken in out. Yet now I’m so, so glad I went. It was an awesome show. I met some awesome people who had the same likes as me. Plus I got some awesome swag.

After that success I did end up taking a step back. I chickened out of cosplaying at Gen Con this year. There will be more chances at other cons but still I wish I would have just done it. But sometimes taking that step out of your comfort zone feels like stepping off a cliff and I’m not ready for that.

Now the goal I’m aiming for next and it’s a big one, is planning a solo vacation to somewhere I’ve never been. I’m thinking the Florida keys. Or maybe New Orleans. I just want to go somewhere I’ve never been. I want to explore and be a tourist. All without having to worry about someone else or sticking to an itinerary. Yet at the same time it worries me. Being a single female doesn’t always make traveling alone easy. There are worries and fears to take into consideration. So maybe I’ll invite along a friend. There’s still time between now and the end of 2017 when I’m thinking of going. I’m just excited to get to wandering.

Any travel sugguestions?-Jel

Author: justjelblog

Hi! I'm Jel, 24 and counting. I started this blog to help better express myself. Also attempting to run a Youtube channel so expect posts on both.

Leave a Reply

